Skip to main content



Roberta Hykawy, Chair

IBEW Local 1007 – Assistant Business Manager

My career with the City of Edmonton began at the Edmonton Police Service as a Telephone Installer in 1995 and has continued to be a rewarding journey. Now, as an Assistant Business Manager and still as a member of IBEW Local Union 1007, I am proud to represent our membership on the Board of Trustees of ECECAF.

Email: [email protected]

Derek McIntyre, Vice-Chair

Edmonton Police Service Senior Officers’ Association (SOA) – Superintendent

Derek has been a member of the Edmonton Police Service (EPS) since 1997 and became a member of the EPS Senior Officers’ Association (SOA), and ECECAF, in early 2018. Derek finds representing the SOA in the work ECECAF gets to do some of the most fulfilling endeavors he’s experienced in his policing career.

Email: [email protected]

Rob Morrison, Secretary-Treasurer

Edmonton Fire Fighters Union (EFFU) – IAFF Local 209 – Treasurer

Rob is a Captain with Edmonton Fire Rescue and Treasurer of the Edmonton Fire Fighters’ Union. Rob shares his passion for community service as a board trustee, formerly Vice Chair and most recently as Secretary-Treasurer to ECECAF. Edmonton firefighters are strong supporters of the incredible charitable work the contributing members do to support and benefit the community.



Joy Arntzen

United Nurses of Alberta (UNA) Local 196 (Edmonton Community) – President

Joy is a Registered Nurse and the President of United Nurses of Alberta, Local 196, Edmonton Community, and has been a Board Trustee since January 2011. Joy has a passion in serving the members of her local, and strongly supporting the various work of the Board regarding charitable contributions, education scholarships and special aid. 

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 780-430-4616

Damir Begovic

Amalgamated Transit Union (ATU) Local 569

Damir has been involved with ATU 569 in various positions during the past two decades in service to his member; the opportunity to represent members as a Trustee on ECECAF Board and to continue supporting charitable causes on their behalf is immensely rewarding.

Email:  [email protected]

Gail Hickmore

City of Edmonton Management Association (CEMA)

Gail has been employed with the City of Edmonton since 1986. She is the General Supervisor for Development Approvals in the Development Approvals and Inspections Section. Gail joined the CEMA Board in 2019 and became the Vice President in 2020. She became a ECECAF Board member in 2020 and is proud to serve on both Boards and increase awareness on what they both have to offer.


Eric Lewis

Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE) Local 30 (Outside Workers) – President

I am a born and raised Edmontonian who cares about the community. I have worked for the city of Edmonton since I was 19 and take great pride in the work I did as a city employee. I look forward to helping the communities and organizations within Edmonton.


Laura Manz

Alberta Health Services Community Care & Public Health, Association of Management and Non-Union Affiliates (AMNUA)

(Content coming soon)

Reg Meinczinger

Unifor Local 829

I have over 30 years in the power industry working at Genesee. I have a family of three kids with my wife including four dogs on an acreage south of Stony Plain. I am either spending my time off working on the acreage, camping, travelling or working on vehicles. My love for motorcycling in both forms, street and motor cross, runs deep along with helping anyone in need of a hand. I have been on the ECECAF board since 2015.

Email: [email protected]
Phone: 780-293-4775


Christa Cruthers

ECECAF Fund Administrator

Christa has been the Fund Admin since 2013 supporting the philanthropic work of the trustees through the generous contributions by members. This includes facilitating board decisions, prepping for meetings, liaising with Edmonton-local charitable organizations, providing communications, as well as processing scholarships, driver ed subsidies, and special aid applications for members. 

Email: [email protected]